Wednesday, 7 September 2016

MESHUGGAH Post third trailer for The Violent Sleep Of Reason

Swedish extreme tech-metal pioneers MESHUGGAH have a month until the release of their upcoming eighth album, The Violent Sleep Of Reason. The band released the third video where Tomas discusses his drumming inspiration. Check out the video on the Nuclear Blast YouTube channel: 

Tomas Haake comments, "We are just trying to write something that's sounds new to us, fresh to our ears, something we ourselves haven't heard before. That has been the main drive for each album with MESHUGGAH. We are trying to come up with new way to sound a little bit different even though we're still within framework of what we have to be. We are this metal band, we are not going to all of a sudden do clean vocals and play super straight cheesy rock. We have this framework that we want to be in, we probably and hopefully always will be in. So with that said, that's the limitation of what we've been doing so we are just trying to create something new but still within this framework."

If you missed the first two trailers, check them out below: 

Tomas Haake comments about the album, "Basically, the whole idea of why we chose the title is it kinda connects with the lyrical content of the album. Which is to a fair degree about current events and what you see is going on as far as terrorism today, extremist views on ideals, and religious dogma and the violent implications that you get from being asleep so to speak and not acting/reacting to what is going on in the proper way"

The album was produced by the band and was engineered by Tue Madsen of Puk Studios in Kaerby,Denmark. For the cover, the band once again enlisted Keerych Luminokaya who created the artwork forKoloss and The Ophidian Trek as well as the new images for each of the 7 albums and 3 EP's featured in the 25 Years of Musical Deviance box set.

Track listing as follows:
1. Clockworks
2. Born in Dissonance
3. MonstroCity
4. By the Ton
5. Violent Sleep of Reason
6. Ivory Tower
7. Stifled
8. Nostrum
9. Our Rage Won’t Die
10. Into Decay

Visit MESHUGGAH online at