Saturday, 9 January 2016

Megadeth `Dystopia’ Review

Megadeth’s influence on the world of heavy metal goes without saying, for over 30 years now Dave Mustaine has undoubtedly stamped his mark on the music world from his early career trajectory through to his pioneering guitar style and vocal manner to Megadeth’s masterpiece works. So to think he’d put his feet up and sip on a well earned drink, however with partner in crime Dave Junior Ellefson in toe, they’ve embarked on `Dystopia’, arming themselves with new guitarist Kiko Loureiro and Lamb Of God’s stick man Chris Adler, to yes ok add further numbers to Megadeth’s revolving line up. 

Prepared with 11 new tracks, Dystopia launches itself into the Megadeth cannon with utter ferocity, from the opener `The Threat Is Real’ it pounds, it weaves and speeds through faster than Roadrunner on an illicit substance. The guitar work on the album is certainly one of the central elements and as with pretty much all of the Megadeth albums, it doesn’t disappoint one bit. Kiko and Dave’s partnership already seems pretty solid and will be one that will be interesting to see live.

Dave takes his subject matter with both hands and dissects modern society’s issues with a cutthroat razor, from politics to war through to injustice. His voice barks and growls even at the tender age of 54, his voice has lost none of its potency, clearly evident on songs `Emperor’ and `Foreign Policy’. 

Of course, we can’t forget Dave `Junior’ and Chris Adler’s contributions to the proceedings, both laying down a unyielding foundation for Dave and Kiko’s ferocious rhythm and lead playing. Indeed, Ellefson has a nifty opening bass lead on `Fatal Illusion’ and well the best way to describe Chris’s efforts on drums is highly trustworthy, stead fast and exciting throughout `Dystopia’. 

It definitely seems that each member is given the opportunity to shine and there’s a gorgeous classical guitar piece that has Kiko written all over it and it really adds an new element to the Megadeth machine and certainly this is detriment to Mr Mustaine who has yet to hire tedious or bog standard players in any of the Megadeth line ups 

So is it worthwhile you spending your hard earned sterling? Yes, quite frankly it is. Now, I personally think Metal is a live beast and yes we do have some heavy hitters on the album but where this album will truly be tested and evaluated is how well they stand up live. However for now, `Dystopia’ sits perfectly within the Megadeth arsenal. 

8 /10- A Solid Megaeffort but any classics, only time will tell. 

Stand out tracks:
`The Threat Is Real’, `Dystopia’ and `Conquer or Die!’

Track Listing:

1. The Threat Is Real
2. Dystopia
3. Fatal Illusion
4. Death From Within
5. Bullet To The Brain
6. Post American World
7. Poisonous Shadows
8. Conquer or Die!
9. Lying In State
10. The Emperor
11. Foreign Policy

Places on the interthing: