Saturday, 21 November 2015


Evil music industry trolls killed off that most British of traditions - the Christmas Single - with their sickly singing competition winners. They stole Christmas from the Kidz, and The Darkness will not accept this!!! The lineage of Christmas songfoolery has included many greats, and The Darkness’ legendary 2003 single ‘Christmas Time (Don’t Let The Bell’s End), put the band firmly in the frame as a Christmas staple, alongside stuffing and unacceptable jumpers. The band have taken the long-overdue fightback into their own hands and have recorded a brand new song for your yuletide delight. ‘I AM SANTA’ is a jingle fest in their own inimitable style and is released (of course) on Christmas Day. 

The super-festive video for the single was recorded in Los Angeles while the band were on tour in October. The Darkness borrowed a time machine off of the Back To The Future people in order to make the video in the 1980s, and bought up the ENTIRE stock of fake snow from Hollywood's special effects dealers. There is a special prize if you can spot the celebrity disguised as a cheerful Santa figurine!

As previously announced, to celebrate this momentous event, the band’s latest album ‘Last Of Our Kind’ will be released on 20th November 2015 with 4 new tracks: ‘Messenger’, ‘Always Had The Blues’, ‘Million Dollar Strong’ and ‘I AM SANTA’. 

The Blast of Our Kind tour will commence on November 28th in Norwich and culminate in a triumphant show at London's Roundhouse on December 20th. It is the first, and a golden, opportunity for enthusiasts to see The Darkness on their own stage in support of the latest album ‘Last of Our Kind’ and their first tour since 2013. The band have just completed tours in the US and Australia and head to Europe in the New Year.

The Hawkins Brothers, Frankie Poullain and Rufus Taylor are The Darkness.

25th December 2015 – ‘I AM SANTA’ – new single

You're welcome.

Blast of Our Kind UK Tour:
28 November Norwich UEA
30 November NORWICH, Open
1 December CAMBRIDGE, Corn Exchange
2 December NOTTINGHAM, Rock City
4 December NEWCASTLE, O2 Academy
5 December GLASGOW, O2 Academy
9 December LEEDS, O2 Academy
10 December MANCHESTER, Academy
11 December BIRMINGHAM, O2 Academy
13 December BRISTOL, O2 Academy
14 December SOUTHAMPTON, O2 Guildhall
15 December BEXHILL, De La Warr Pavillion
17 December BOURNEMOUTH, O2 Academy
19 December OXFORD, O2 Academy
20 December LONDON, Roundhouse

Tickets are on sale now priced £25.00 & London £27.50 adv.

New tracklisting for: ‘LAST OF OUR KIND’ – 20th November 2015

Barbarian * Open Fire * Last of Our Kind * Roaring Waters * Wheels of the Machine *Mighty Wings * Mudslide * Sarah O’Sarah * Hammer & Tongs * Conquerors * ‘Messenger’, ‘Always Had The Blues’, ‘Million Dollar Strong’ * ‘I AM SANTA’.